efangelist

If you want your business communications to be clear and to avoid business blunders, you can learn a lot from the way good trial lawyers ask questions.

I’m a former litigator (Solicitor of the Supreme Court of Queensland) turned journalist and communication consultant.

TB LL mosaic

I was lucky to study journalism and law in the United State where I became a big fan of (and still study) US legal education. Yes, I’m still a legal education nerd!

This week I was studying US cross-examination techniques (as you do!) and how effective counsel ask one question at a time to advance the evidence.

You get confirmation of one fact at a time. If you mingle too many bits of information, a witness could say “NO” and you don’t know what part of the statement they are saying No to.

For example:

So, at 8 p.m. you and Bill travelled by train to the…

View original post 434 more words

