Why and when lawyers don’t need Social Media and Legal Marketing

Are you a lawyer who finds the world of legal marketing and social media daunting?

I understand and empathise. Being a former lawyer (who escaped the law for what I considered a more adventurous life) – I understand how lawyers think and the “barriers” for lawyers (and other detached professionals).

Getaway travel

(After “escaping” the law – this became my workplace as a TV reporter and Travel show producer – now as a family man I am more responsible and back working helping lawyers and other professionals) 

Why many lawyers don’t warm to social media

  1. In the business of “the billable hour” – you’d rather spend your time making money and doing billable work rather than investing your valuable time bothering to learn about a whole new area that may be foreign to you. It takes time to get your head around Social Media.
  2. You are naturally cautious. I try to be bolder in my thinking – but I am still inherently cautious. I see liability and complication everywhere (even in a playground with my kids!)  Tortured by TORT thinking! Lawyers see the “danger” in the openness of social media.
  3. You are used to getting paid for your hard-earned expertise. The social media world is based on SHARING and to be blunt – lawyers are not the most sharing people in the world.  I can say that because I used to be this way too. Social media often involves sharing a bit of your advice and experience to help others and sharing a bit about your personal side. I’ve learned from US legal social media experts like Adrian Dayton (a former lawyer). Adrian shares “a taste” of what he can offer and outlines the full offering and allows you to choose to purchase that full offering).

Now, younger lawyers who grew up with a social media mindset – “get” the new “sharing and caring” world of social media for law firms.

More mature lawyers can be more reluctant and want to avoid this dangerous and unknown place.

And maybe YOU don’t have to worry about social media.

 

1.  If you are established in your practice and you have enough business lined up (through your pre-social media days networking and business development) maybe you don’t need to worry about social media. Maybe you have lots of “old school” clients who aren’t into social media either. If the decision makers who give you work are not into social media – then maybe you can survive without social media. If a firm has everyday people as clients (many firms who run of personal injuries, family law etc – then chances are your clients do use social media – and in these cases you may decide it’s important to make the effort.

 

2. If you are planning to get out of law in the next 3 years or so  – through retirement, selling your practice, or moving into another profession, maybe again – you can just work on your law and not worry about social media.

If you are selling your business, you may choose to establish a social media presence and followers to boost the “value” or your business – social media good will!

I understand how social media can be daunting to many lawyers who started their careers BEFORE social media.

If however – you ARE interested in just taking a peek at how US law firms are using social media – here is a link to a great “presentation” that walks you through.

The presentation is from March this year. I only had time to watch it in detail this morning.

If you DO want to understand this Social Media stuff  – you have to schedule time to study (deeply – and with full focus). It’s not a billable hour – buy what I call a building hour – where you build your expertise in things you may need to know to advance your career. These difficult days – it’s often about sustaining your career.

I am constantly building on and adding to my expertise in this area and I will share the best resources I find in future posts.

I am based in Australia – where many firms seem to be “lagging behind” in social media and legal marketing.

Many smaller practices seem to think having a social media presence is beyond them – in terms of having the resources to continue to commit time to maintaining a social media presence.

I hope you benefit from the presentation I shared. I have no connection with the presenters. I’ve just learned to be more sharing as I change my old legal thinking ways!

Here’s the link – and I encourage you to set aside 45 minutes to watch it deeply.

As a former lawyer, I liked the evidence in support to buttress the claims. Many social media “experts” don’t support their case for social media.

If you enjoyed this post – Let’s connect:

If you found this post interesting, you can follow and connect. I blog about fun pop culture stuff as well as more serious business communication tips.

Twitter  https://twitter.com/tonybiancotti tony biancotti

@tonybiancotti

Linked In – under Tony Biancotti

Or you can click to follow this blog.

Cheers, Tony

So, why do lawyers need to be likeable anyway?

Lawyers often get a bad rap ( perceived as dry, detached and  dispassionate) – yet they can change their image and be more likeable. In these competitive times –  to attract and retain clients, lawyers need to show more than  just their legal expertise.

They need to create greater connections with existing and potential clients. Lawyers need to be more likeable. 1. by showing what they have in common with their audience ( how they are LIKE their audience). 2. by revealing just a bit of their human and private side – what things in life they LIKE. Lawyers in the US now list things (outside of work) that they LIKE and are passionate about. Social Media Savvy law firms are creating more shareable and likeable content.

Legal websites are more audience-focussed and dare to stand out from the old stodgy legal image.

Who is writing this?

Slide1

Hi, I’m Tony Biancotti. When I was a Solicitor of the Supreme Court of Queensland – I found the working as a lawyer too dull, so I “escaped”  for an adventure-filled career as a TV reporter and Defence Correspondent – and even a political speechwriter and media adviser.

Slide1

Since 2004 I’ve been an international presentation and writing coach and consultant helping leading Australian and global businesses. I use my media and social media skills to help professionals (including lawyers) communicate and persuade more effectively by “connecting” with their audience.

 

